Tricuspide

History and traditions

​​The Non-Commissioned Officers School derives from the first Non-Commissioned Officer Cadets School appeared on 1st July 1888 in Caserta where it remained until 30th September 1895 with its head office at the Royal Palace.

​​

Later other Schools in different Italian cities were funded until when, in 1965, the General Staff of the Army ordered the unification of the educational path constituting a unique Non-Commissioned Officer Cadets School in Viterbo, in order to ensure the same preparation level to all the Non-Commissioned Officers.

The Institute preserves the remembrance of the 36,185 Non-Commissioned Officers Fallen in war and in peacetime carrying out their duty.

From 1965 to 1995 77 courses were organized for totally 35,000 Non-Commissioned Officer Cadets.

​Since 1995, with the reorganization of the Non-Commissioned Officers’ Role of the Armed Forces, the School prepares:

  • Marshals as platoon Commanders of the Army Operational Forces that after three year gain a degree in “Political and International Relations Sciences”, delivered by the University of Tuscia;
  • Marshals as “Professional Nurse” that gain a “Nursing” degree at “Roma Tre” Univeristy”;
  • Sergeants as Operators, Repairmen and Technicians.

In 1998, in view of new tasks, the Institute had the current name of Non-Commissioned Officers School of the Army.

As the General Staff of the Army ordered, at the dependencies of the School there are:

  • the Marshal Cadets Regiment, in Viterbo, that up today has educated more than 3,000 Marshals;
  • the Sergeant Cadets Regiment (80th “Rome” Regiment), in Cassino (FR), that up today has educated more than 7,000 Sergeants.

​​